To business card, or not to business card

Business cards are a great way of connecting with people and creating business relationships (Entrepreneur Europe, 2015). A business card works as a first impression of yourself therefore it is important to leave an impression.

Online, business card prices range from £6 for 100 single sided cards from Instantprint (Instantprint, n.d) to £10 for 100 double-sided cards from Helloprint (Helloprint, n.d), however, as a student I decided to use a more cost-effective way.

I created a rectangular, vertical, double-sided card with a simple design with a pop of colour. The front page presents me and what I do, whilst the back side contains my purpose of giving the card away and contact details.

Business card 1BeFunky-photo

I would prefer the card to be silky, however, the cheapest option would be to use thick regular printer paper. The layout is white with black writing in the font style Bell MT with sizes varying from 11 to 14.

My main concern is that my business card will be thrown away due to the new interest in digital business cards, which is unfortunate when I have taken time to design it myself and especially in terms of the cost of the production. I am also not very comfortable with putting my phone number on it, however I want people to be able to reach me easily and feel connected to me.

Alexandra, S (2015) How to Turn Business Cards Into Business Relationships [Online] Available from: <https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/246856> (Accessed 05. November 2018)

Gogoprint Thailand (2017) How to Create Your Business Cards in Word [Video] Retrieved from: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Km_cpOhOQjw> (Accessed 10. November 2018)

HelloPrint (N.d) Business cards by Hello Print [Online] Available from: <https://www.helloprint.co.uk/businesscards-standardcard-400gsmdeluxe-bothsides#printrun> (Accessed 05. November 2018)

InstantPrint (n.d) Economy Business Cards [Online] Available from: <https://www.instantprint.co.uk/business-cards/economy#!?lamination=no&size=85-x-55-mm&paper=350gsm-silk&sided=single&finish=standard-corners> (Accessed 05. November 2018)

 

Leave a comment